Taking Care of Yourself

Many of you are taking care of others during this time. I am going to post a bit about taking care of yourself.

1 Corinthians 6:19 What? Know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost in you….”

Philippians 4:13 I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

1 Corinthians 10:31 Whether therefore ye eat, or drink. or whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God.

Ideas for Taking Care of Yourself

  1. As in 1 Corinthians, try to keep to a fairly healthy diet. Maintain a normal eating schedule.
  2. Getting exercise can be hard depending on where you live. I am able to go for walks in my neighborhood, but need to stay away from other people. You should be able to find some types of exercise, like yoga, online.
  3. Read inspirational quotes online. I typed in, “inspirational quotes”. There are a number of sites. I found this quote at brainy quote.com. “Keep your face always towards the sunshine – and shadows will fall behind you.”
  4. Try guided imagery. Someone reads from a script using a soothing voice. They often have you imagine that there are things around you that would be relaxing. You will be guided on how to breath in a way that promotes relaxation. There are many sites on line for guided imagery also. I found a few short ones on You Tube. I typed in “short guided imagery”.
  5. Listen to music. Whatever music makes you feel good.
  6. If you have trouble getting to sleep try tightening one muscle at a time and then relaxing it.
  7. Look up Mindfulness Meditation. It may be different than what you consider meditation. Wikipedia – purposely bringing one’s attention to experiences occurring in the present moment.
  8. Read an old favorite book or a new favorite.

Look online for more ideas.

Here is one last quote:

Matthew 15:32 Then Jesus called his disciples to him and said, “I have compassion on the crowd, because they have been with me now three days, and have nothing to eat; and I am unwilling to send them away hungry lest they faint on the way.”

Prayer – Asking for help with patience or with taking care of yourself.

Leave a comment